Timeline: An Evolving Institute

Faculty report group

MIT science faculty involved in advocating for or serving on the Committee on the Status of Women Faculty in Science: Sylvia Ceyer, Robert Silbey, Jerome Friedman, Paula Malanotte-Rizzoli, Nancy Hopkins, Sallie “Penny” Chisholm, Leigh Royden, Joanne Stubbe, and Mary-Lou Pardue, circa 1999.

  • 1980 - Dr. ChoKyun Rha (SB XX ‘62, SM XX ’64, SM X ’66, ScD XX ’67), first known Asian woman to earn tenure at MIT
  • 1980 - Dr. Pushpa Devi Singh (PhD V), first known South Asian woman to receive a PhD in Chemistry
  • 1983 - Dr. Francee Jean Taylor (SB VII), first known Native American woman to receive a degree from MIT
  • 1987 - Dr. JoAnne Stubbe, first woman in the Department of Chemistry to become tenured
  • 1987 - Women in Chemistry group founded
  • 1999 - A Study on the Status of Women Faculty in Science at MIT is published
  • 1999 - Dr. Hyun Gyung Jang first woman to hold post-doctoral position in Biological Engineering
  • 2004 - Dr. Susan Hockfield, biology faculty member and first woman President of MIT
ChoKyun Rha

ChoKyun Song Rha, circa 1964.

JoAnne Stubbe

JoAnne Stubbe, 2017.

Susan Hockfield

Susan Hockfield, 2012.